WMD, Novo Amor, Tycho, Firewoodisland
WMD, Novo Amor, Tycho, Firewoodisland

Review of WMD’s cohesive new LP

Image credit: Michael Erickson

Seattle-based producer WMD has released his new 10-track album Deliquesce with the Natural Blonde imprint. The album sees him take his years of production experience, having started as a youth, and distil it into a moody and sometimes sombre collection. Let’s delve in

Stream / Download: WMD – Deliquesce LP

The already released single ‘Yearn’ (read our feature on the single here) is a minimal production. Guitars ring out in broken chords, leaving a sort of hollow space in which the other instruments appear: a bowed violin accents the constant piano, which serves as a heartbeat and gives the track its pulse.

‘So In Love’ leads the big reveal, highlighting the overall tone of the album. One can find the element contained throughout the project: guitars, processed vocals, strings, and softly-tapping drums. Overall, WMD has sustained cohesiveness, managing to do so using sound choice.

Deliquesce Tracklist:

1. Deliquesce

2. So In Love

3. Formless

4. Nowhere

5. Yearn

6. Your Desolate Stillness

7. Softly Folded Dawn

8. Tied To The Mast

9. Twofold Silence

10. Vetiver

Follow WMD:


More Stories
Interview with Experimental Musician Bel_Medula as she Premieres select works from her #30dias30beats